Good Things

The last impression I want to give anyone is that I have given up my appreciation for the finer elements in life.  Quite the opposite.  I appreciate them even more.  And with a new, keener sense of what good really is.  For instance, there is no substitute for good coffee.  Just as there is no substitute for homemade bread.  And there is a difference between Taco Bell and La Mansion.  Franzia boxed wine could never hold a candle to a fine Malbec.  And make no mistake, I love to indulge in a pedicure or a massage every once in a while, and as well a splurge at a yummy culinary shop.  Real butter is the only choice, just as is visiting my hair stylist, Hannah, whom I absolutely love.  I agree with Rebecca Rather, the “Pastry Queen,” that only the best chocolate should be used in baking.  These things will remain constant.  The distinction now is that I understand that there is such a thing as a budget, and that working outside of that causes problems.  It has become quite obvious that the good Lord saw that in order to get me to truly understand and embrace the beautiful things in my life, He would first have to clean the slate and take everything away.  There is a verse in the bible, not sure which one so I will get back on that, but is says that in order to gain our lives we must first be willing to lose them.  Once we are willing to give up all of those things in our lives that we let get in front of God, only at that point can we truly be blessed. 

I still struggle with  a few demons.  I get stuck in a rut and become frustrated by all of the things that still need to be done.  I find myself overwhelmed by the fact that there is a still-yet-to-be-completed house which now has the role of storing most of our worldly possessions.  All of the china, crystal, silver, family heirlooms, antique furniture, and too many other things to mention are all boxed up and stacked in the house we moved onto the farm.  It now serves, however, as something to reach for.  We sit and think and dream about what we are going to do in each room.  One day it will be a wonderful warm and inviting home.  Again, a clean slate.  With a chance to do things the right way this time.

About vestigefromthepast

I am a Mom of three, working from home. At almost age 40 I am trying to figure out what to do with the rest of my life. It is a strange place to be--starting over at mid-life. I am focusing on what my dreams really are, and the rest, well, we'll see!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment